User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2009, 12:52 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Cheating a govenor???

I'm a company driver and just recently I got out of a 8000 series Volvo into a 2006 KW T-2000. It used to be an O/O truck, and their able to do 65mph, but company trucks only go 62mph. After doing 62 for awhile, and then getting a taste of the 65, I fell in love with it. That few more mph helps to get past a lot of trucks and makes the time, and miles, go by faster. Had to take the truck in the other day and for some reason they must have hooked the computer up to it and saw a company truck set at 65. So they knocked it down to 62.

I was told a few tricks about raising the Volvo (crossing some wires), but I'm not familiar with a way on the T-2000s. If anybody can help make this driver's life go a little easier and faster again, it would be appreciated. I thought of the diesel doctor thing, but I'm told the computer records when changes are made to it and I don't think the company would really be happy with that. Thanks for any help.
Old 03-14-2009, 01:00 AM

The company would be just as unhappy about you crossing wires or finding some other way around their set speed.

You would be fired on the spot when (not if) they find out with a note in your file that you tampered with the equipment. Kiss any driving job whatsoever goodbye.

Is your job and career really worth that extra 3 mph?
Old 03-14-2009, 01:07 AM
Rookie

I'm sorry. I was trying to see if there was a way, without tampering with any wires or equipment.

I know my company doesn't register over speed until it goes over 67 mph. I love my job, and no wouldn't want to risk it. It just seems alot of the times I'm getting slowed down on the roads because I can't get past a truck that seems to be going 61 1/2 mph. The 65 mph also greating increase my mpg (from around 6.2 up to 7.5 mpg).