User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2006, 03:17 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Truckers, professionals? not from my perspective

I'm new here and not a truck driver. I have always wanted to be a truck driver though. I love driving, and seeing this great country from behind the wheel.

My wife and I were recently on a 2K mile round trip vacation from Annapolis Maryland to Chicago Illinois and back. We drove up to see a concert and made our trip back home a leisurely one.

I'm a ham operator and had my rig with me in the truck. Once I hit rush hour traffic nearing Chicago I tuned into channel 19 to see what was up with the back up. I heard much of what any layman would expect to have heard. There were discussions of engines, transmissions, cb's, mudflaps, tires, weather etc... Some really interesting talk about the relationship of MPG versus transmissions and engine combos.

So we're all (rush hour commuters) approaching a 3 into 2 merge where the right lane turns into an exit ramp. It was then that I heard several truckers saying 'squeeze em up boys' . It didn't take long to figure out that I was experiencing a slow speed road rage incident. Those 'four wheelers' are a bunch of 'assholes' who need to be 'scared real good' by 'runnin em into the wall' 'don't hit em, but get real close and give em a good scare'

The radio traffic continued about how one trucker had entered the right lane and was stopping all traffic from 'squirting by' and getting in front of 'us' . Apparently you all have figured out a way to further mess up rush hour traffic and just get all mad about it at the same time.

I could go on but my point of making this post is to call you 'truckers' out. This is about the most unprofessional and discourteous driving I've ever experienced. All those commercials I hear on the radio about how truckers are 'delivering America' and how we'd all be up the creek if truckers aren't kept happy. BS!