User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2006, 11:17 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default "I was an owner operator"

I have worked in the trucking industry for almost 4 years. I am a technician, safety inspector and part time driver. At our small, family company, I have seen some pretty lowlife people drive our trucks. This in no way reflects on my opinion of professional truckers, you and I both know there are some lowlifes out there. Why we keep hiring them is beyond me. I thought I had seen it all until I met Randy:

Randy was hired 3 weeks ago. I had just finished cleaning out the truck he was assigned to when I met him. I introduced myself. First thing out of his mouth:

"I was an owner operator"

K, that's great. Long story short he said this 3 more times in our short conversation, to which I finally replied "yeah? I used to delver pizza" :lol:

I don't talk with many OOs, but I was not aware this is something former OOs openly tell other people in normal conversation. If he was indeed an OO, why was he here?

Randy is quite the badass. One of those guys who knows everything. We gave him the benefit of the doubt and assumed he knew how to perform his duties, you know, having been an OO.

In 3 weeks, he has managed to:

rip a light cord off on a trailer
rip a turn signal off
drag off 2 new trailer tires ($600)
steal $1,000 worth of advances
wrap his air lines and light cords around his driveshaft
drop not one, but two trailers without lowering the landing gear
trash his truck with more garbage than I have ever seen in a truck
swear at customers
run unsafe/faulty equipment... when I performed a state inspection on his truck I found all kinds of stuff most of us would notice and like to have fixed, fire extinguisher, wiper blades, dashboard lights, low tires...
run a reefer with a frozen load out of fuel