User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2009, 05:56 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default 2005 freightliner columbia 500000ml maint?

I just bought a fleet maintaned 2005 freightliner columbia with 500000 and cat c-15. Im just wondering were i should start doing maintanace. It runs perfect but i know I need to change belts,filters,fluids. what else should I check first to keep her rolling. I know this is a broad ? but ive been a company driver so I know they do pm every 20000 miles on all fleet trucks. and im not a mechanic. any info would be helpfull. thanks
Old 11-21-2009, 01:45 PM
BANNED
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by rlhgpt View Post
I just bought a fleet maintaned 2005 freightliner columbia with 500000 and cat c-15. Im just wondering were i should start doing maintanace. It runs perfect but i know I need to change belts,filters,fluids. what else should I check first to keep her rolling. I know this is a broad ? but ive been a company driver so I know they do pm every 20000 miles on all fleet trucks. and im not a mechanic. any info would be helpfull. thanks
Do a overhead adjustment(tune-up)..

I own 2006 and I have 394K on it with Detroit,nice trucks..
Old 11-22-2009, 05:25 AM

Find a mechanic who will come to your place and teach you how to do some stuff.
Cash, booze, BBQ, whatever he or she will work for...

Remember, that fleet did not spend cash on that truck as it was winding down towards the sale.

Buy a good quality tire gauge and use it regularly.

One of those infrared heat guns is a great thing. Heat precedes failure in all things mechanical. Shoot bearings, tires, brake drums, etc when you stop, get a feel for what is normal, so you can find what isn't before it fails catastrophically.

All filters, fuel, oil, air, look close at the belts, check for play in the tensioners.

Time for differentials and transmission oil change?