User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2009, 12:26 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default question for fuel tanker drivers

I am currently driving a dry van but am considering a jump to tankers. I just want to know what the pay is like, I heard some are paid by the load others are hourly. Right now I am averaging about 500-600 take home weekly, and I would like to know is it worth loking into. I am enticed by the fact that you are home every night,so the only other factor for me is the pay. I have both tanker and hazmat endorsements. And yes I am awarre of the added dangers of transporting fuel. I consider myself a safe driver and dont see mysself in any more danger than what I do now. Any repsonses would be appreciated

Thanks
Old 03-11-2009, 12:28 AM
Senior Board Member

Where are you located? Have you asked around the area yet?
Old 03-11-2009, 12:44 AM
Rookie

I have been driving a fuel truck since 1995 and some answers to your questions are that you can bring home anywhere from 500 a week to 1200 a week. It all depends on how hard you want to run and how many days a week you run. I drive for United Petroleum Transports out of OK City but i live in the Dallas area. The main reason i started hauling fuel was to be at home at night with my family. Most fuel companies slip seat each truck and run 12 hour shifts. Keep in mind that it is more work than most people think. You load and unload your own truck (which is fairly easy,with the exception of wrestling hoses). My advice would be to find a company that is willing to hire and train you and stick with them for at least a year. By this time you will know what other companies are in the fuel business and what each of them has to offer. You can then decide if the compny you are with is right for you or not. Remember that fuel hauling is not for everybody.There seems to be a gap between newbies and guys that have been at it for 15 or 20 years. I hope some of this info will help you. Good Luc