User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2011, 05:48 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Who is hiring out of Southwest Florida (Sarasota/Tampa Bay area) thats good???

So here is my dilemma, I have 16 years experience driving local and OTR. I retired back in 97 and recently got back in about 10 months ago. I know all the big outfits want at least 12 months of recent verifiable experience for insurance reasons. I am almost there, and I am currently employed OTR east coast, but I am driving crap equipment (1999 freightliner Conv) and not relly getting the miles I need to make a decent living.

Are there any carriers out there that will treat you fairly, give you a decent truck, and run you legally, and get you home? Everyone I have talked to wants you to run 3 to 4 weeks out and reset in a truck stop somewhere. I'm not really interested in running that long away from my family. I want to be home every weekend if possible, I dont mind staying out once in a while when necessary.

It seams like all the jobs I can get (with my lack of so called experience) is driving junk trucks, smoked in trucks (I dont smoke) or they run you so hard that you get zero sleep! Smaller companies that do not pay for dead head miles, they state that dead heading is always free and that they dont pay drivers because they dont get paid to pick up loads! What a bunch of crap!

So I have had 4 jobs this year alone trying to get back in to the trucking industry! It makes me look like a job jumper, which I am not, its because they are all lying to me about miles,pay and equipment. All I want is a decent job and a decent tractor in which to live in while Im out on the road.