User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-18-2008, 07:12 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Any Good advice on this? Newbie out of school...

Hello all...

Now to it...

I graduated Swift's driving academy in mid january 08...

At orientation, I signed on to flatbed division and my address was changed by what swift calls a "processor" - this allowed me to enter flatbed training.

After 6 weeks with a mentor (who was a better fellow and mentor than I ever expected) I got off his truck and completed the final part of flatbed training. I was then "cleared to solo".

The next day, I was told that the address change never took place. I asked for a single day to change my license, but was refused. I was told repeatedly that I had until mid april to change my license to my home state. In fact, I wasn't even allowed 24 hrs. :x :evil:

My my home terminal was changed, and now I'm waiting for a truck. Its been over 2 weeks of waiting and its not looking promising. The way things have been handled is that I'm told it was all an error, but no one is making any effort to resolve it. They expect to wait as long as it takes, OR, just quit and leave and then they start billing me for the school. :evil:

WHAT BITES / WORKS AGAINST ME

1- Swift doesn't mind me waiting or leaving, but I need an income.
2- I have a refusal to test for alcohol from 10/99
3- I have a misdemeanor 2004 (worked for a contractor, guy ducked and
dodged on paying me, left a stupid but honest message, and was charged for threatening).
4 - Aside from 6 weeks mentoring, I have no CDL A experience.
5 - Swift won't release grades or graduation info until paid in full...but I can't pay if I have no income.

WHAT I'D LIKE

If I have to drive a truck, I'd rather drive flatbed...its what I trained for and even though its harder work, what I like. I'm open to reefer or van so the preference is only that - a preference.

I love running the SW - AZ, NM, South TX (viva Laredo)...