User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2008, 11:39 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default I cant beleave I am posting this

So at the risk of being warned I have decided to share this with everyone in hopes of some other routes.

As some you may know I went through Schneider driving school 8/06 and then left teaming 10/06 due to my wife becoming very ill. I made the choice to pay Schneider for school and return to my old career so I could be home more.

Wife is better now and I am ready to return. I have been shopping around for a few months now. TMC turned me down, the recruiter said to get a few months OTR time and then reapply. Maverick wants me to have a steady one year job and then reapply.

Now dont get me wrong. I understand why companys want this. So I am not complaining.

So today I walk into my current retail job and get laid off. My last day is 2/22 and then I get one month pay. Now things need to move a little faster in finding a job. I would like to be in training during that month of free pay to help cover the drop in pay.

Schneider wants me to go back through school. With that comes another contract of 18 months. I am not interested in that. Not that I blame them for charging. Hell I paid it once.

On a whim I call Swift. The recruiter advised I can go to Columbus Ohio for a three day orientation. I live just south of Columbus. So thats cool. And as long as I pass the driving test I will then go OTR training for six weeks. Now this would work perfect considering my time problem now.

Before I jump into Swift I wanted to see what other companys you all think will be simular in training.

Most companys want me to go through a refresher first. Not Swift. I am not sure how I feel about that. But it works for me.

Thanks for any input. I know I have asked a lot of questions in the past. Now its time to make a choice and role.

Take it easy.
Ben
Old 02-14-2008, 12:07 AM
Senior Board Member