User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-21-2007, 12:13 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Learning to Secure and Tarp with Melton

Recently my application was accepted by Melton. The recruiter told me that I would be trained to secure and tarp during a 5 day orientation. After orientation I will be assigned a truck and sent out on my own. On my own after 5 days? YIKES! Somehow, this seems a little too quick to me. I have no flatbed experience. I do have 7 mos dry van experience with Werner. So besides making the transition from dry van to flatbed, I will also be adjusting to 13 speed from 9 speed and paper logs as opposed to paperless logs. It just seems like a lot of ground to cover in 5 days. Am I worrying for nothing?

Melton seems like a good company. I don't think they would just throw a driver into one of their trucks without making sure he can get it done, would they? I had also applied to TMC and Maverick. Both shot me down over a 2 pt careless driving ticket that is over two yrs old. So I appreciate Melton giving me a shot here. I just hope I can handle it and do the job correctly and safely. I have been told most of the work is common sense and practice. Still, it seems to me that a whole lot of things can go wrong very quickly without proper instruction. Any input from knowledgeable flatbedders would be appreciated.
Old 08-21-2007, 12:45 AM