User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2007, 08:43 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default How can I get a "shuttle run" like these?

Hello all, I've been driving OTR for about 6 months now and have talked to a lot of drivers and heard a lot of different things from each. What I want to know, is I've heard of some different guys that have what I've heard referred to as "shuttle runs", in which they only run from one place to another, and do that a certain number of times a week depending on how far the run is. For example, I have heard of one driver that lives in PA that only does the same run from PA to California and back, and is home every 2 weeks. I heard about another guy that lived in South Carolina and would do 3 runs to Florida in a week and back, and is home 2 days a week. Finally, I heard about a guy that does runs over the weekend from Florida up to Indianapolis and back, and gets home a few days a week. Unfortunately, I never talked to any of these guys personally, I just heard this information from other drivers and even heard about one of them from a shipper.

My question to all of you guys out there is how do you get a "shuttle run" like these? I know they probably require a few years of experience, but once you have your few years, where should I look for an opportunity like these? Or do you have to be an O/O to do this? I'm just wondering because I'm interested in finding something like this in the future with a more consistent schedule and more predictable home time. I work for Swift right now and it doesn't seem like they have many opportunities like these. You are either regional or all 48 states. So what kind of companies if any would have these kinds of "shuttle run" opportunities? Thanks in advance, and I look forward to your responses. Thanks again.

Tom
Old 08-20-2007, 08:49 PM
Senior Board Member