User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2007, 01:27 AM
Board Regular
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Pay vs. Being Happy

In reading so many of the posts, it looks like alot of the responses are about how much you can make per mile $$.

How many of you consider what I call the "Happy Factor". So many drivers change jobs looking for more $$ that they lose out on the benefits of longevity and developing a good working relationship with their dispatcher and the company.

For example being close to a terminal, it sure is nice being able to park at the terminal, write up any repairs and go home, come back and they are fixed, rather than hang around a terminal 1000 miles from home for a day or so while a PM or repairs are done.
How much is that worth to a driver???

I have been an OTR driver since "92 and have worked most of the time for just 2 companies athough I did a couple of "greener pasture changes".

There are so many factors other than CPM the newer folks need to look at what will really make them happy at company.
Old 01-30-2007, 02:22 AM

That sure is true. I have a local gig right now and the money is great and the hours are awesome. I am home every afternoon. I only work from 230 in the morning to maybe noon at the latest. But I am not happy with this job. I have a boss who breaths down my neck all day long. And on top of that Im longing for the road. I miss the traveling and the traffic jams. (someone slap me for thinking that) But i do enjoy being with my wonderful family everynight.
Old 01-30-2007, 02:30 AM
Senior Board Member
Default Re: Pay vs. Being Happy

Quote:
Originally Posted by kips41
In reading so many of the posts, it looks like alot of the responses are about how much you can make per mile $$.
When looking at pay, a high mileage rate doesn't mean squat if you won't be getting the mileage. Likewise, a lower mileage rate will pay more if the actual mileage is higher and more importantly, CONSISTENT.

Quote: