User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2006, 07:12 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default STAR Transportation in Nashville

I'm a new driver (was student at Werner for 4 weeks but bailed out, for a lot of reasons). I have an offer to go SE Regional with STAR Transportation (Nashville). Money much better than Werner, supposedly home 36 - 48 hours every week.

Anybody have any info, + or -, on STAR?
Old 12-01-2006, 07:23 PM
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)

That was my first company...not to bad of a place...they do actually get you home on the weekends, that part is definitely true.
Old 12-01-2006, 07:47 PM
Board Regular

it used to be an alright company till Coveant bought them out about 2 months or so ago,don't know how they will be now.
Old 12-01-2006, 11:50 PM
Senior Board Member

i worked their for years hope you dont like sleepn their pay was shtty to say the least even whn i got a new truck it wasnt carrot enough for me to stay. but mayb thev changed in the last year or so, i highly doubt it since beth&gang sold out to covanent.
You know you wake up one morning and hope youl be bought out by fedx ups, nope you end up workin for covanent ouch star drivers.
i never waited so much in my lifetime as that first year or so at star. the last year or so was ok home every single weekend . their freight sucked for se heavy loads and alot of them.mayb look elsewhere but if your choice was werner or star id say star. keep lookin youl findsomethin.
Old 12-02-2006, 08:17 AM
Rookie

I actually worked for Star on three different occassions. I can honestly say the the first time, I should not have left, and the third, I should not have returned.

During the latter part of my first and all my second stint, I had the best fleet manager I could have hoped for. He'd bust his butt for you, and did not forget a favor you would do for him. He got promoted, and my time with them dipped significantly in terms of quality.