User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2006, 05:08 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default UPS Freight .. stay or go?

I have been working for UPS Freight (formerly Overnite), for almost 13 years. I was a dockworker for the first 2, a yard spotter for the next 10, and about 6 months ago, I got my class A CDL, and became a P&D driver.

I am very dissatisfied with what UPS has done since purchasing Overnite. I am paying out around $60 a week for benefits, and make $21 an hour. I don't get overtime until 43 hours..

There has been talks of Teamster organization, but nothing solid yet. ALSO-- there has been talks that we will be moving to a new terminal in less than 5 years. This new location will be within 15 miles of my home (compared to the 51 miles/one way that I drive now)..

Maybe I am just overwhelmed by the whole driving thing, but UPS has not announced a pay raise, and our benefits are going up again.. I am seriously thinking of applying elsewhere.. Just to see if I am getting shafted or not..
Old 11-05-2006, 06:16 PM

hi. im working for central transport in the s.e..
top pay is 19hr here.noovertime til 55hrs.
but i get at least 50 --55hrs a week.
also got my owne trk sitting in the yard sece feburary...
thats for back up .....lol
Old 11-05-2006, 07:20 PM
Water Board Administrator
Senior Board Member

I would stay where you are. Seniority is everything in LTL and you'll regret it. I'm waiting for my background check to clear and will be starting at UPSF. What terminal are you in?
Old 11-05-2006, 08:16 PM
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maniac373
I am very dissatisfied with what UPS has done since purchasing Overnite. I am paying out around $60 a week for benefits, and make $21 an hour. I don't get overtime until 43 hours.
Sounds like a raw deal to me. 60 bones a week for medical? That's kinda steep. I paid less than that pullin' for an outlaw outfit with a reefer on my back.