User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2006, 08:43 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Flatbedding ?'s.

Im a newbie to the trucking world and I'm starting with Maverick on the 16th and my question is eveybody says flatbedding is hard work, dont get me wrong, a little sweat and work dont bother me but what is so hard about it?
Old 10-09-2006, 08:48 PM
Senior Board Member

I do not do flatbed work but my guess would be, messing around with 100 lbs tarps in the wind, rain, snow, heat, cold. Strapping and chaining everything down. just to name a few. I am too lazy for that kind of work. lol
Old 10-09-2006, 09:45 PM
Board Regular

It is very hard work, and it can really piss you off at times.
1. You have to secure the load, and not every load is the same. You could spend an hour trying to figure out how to tie something down on the truck.

2.Tarps are a pain in the ass! Yes, you will get faster over time but look for at least an hour to tarp.

After all is said and done you're going to need to pull over and check your load to make sure it is not coming loose, and to check the tarps to make sure they are not flying around. Some loads are very easy, just chain and go but some are just a nightmare. You'll get very dirty, very sweaty, and downright onery to boot after a few hours of securing a load in the hot sun. I drove for 13 years before trying out flatbed, I liked some things but for the most part it sucked.
Old 10-10-2006, 01:57 AM
Senior Board Member

The fact is, it can be hard work sometimes for 30 minutes to 2 hours per day, but it's not that bad. The securement and tarping are, most times, not a big deal either if you've had the proper training. Believe me, you will get that proper training at Maverick.