User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2006, 01:03 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default ?'s about showers while on the road.

I'm a newbie coming in this field and I'm joining maverick, but my question is how often do you get a chance to shower and do you have to pay or is it free?
Old 10-05-2006, 01:12 AM
Senior Board Member

Whenever you fuel your truck, you'll get a shower ticket. They're good for usually 5 days. As far as how often you'll fuel, that depends on the size of the tanks on the truck and the fuel mileage you get. I average fueling every other day.
Old 10-05-2006, 01:32 AM
Senior Board Member

Pretty much like Malaki said. Whenever you get 50 to 75 gallons of fuel, which will be every day, you'll receive a free shower. Most large truck stops these days use their own cards for bonus points and showers. Pilot, TA, Flying J, Petro, they all have their own little cards that you carry around with you and when you fuel a shower will be added to your card. Just present the card to the cashier and you'll placed in line for a shower. Depending on the time of day and the truck stop, you may have to wait a little while, but you'll get your shower. Probably a good idea to wear shower shoes or flip-flops as you never know what kind of bacteria is still on the floor. Most truck stop showers are pretty clean, though, so you shouldn't have too much to worry about unless you're a germ nut. Hauling flatbed I always tried to shower each day, but don't your mind set on that. Sometimes you may have to go a couple days without one, but please, don't be a pig. :P
Old 10-05-2006, 02:24 AM
Senior Board Member

I managed to get a shower pretty much every day. I did skip a day here and there, but those were travel days where I had a 1000-1200 milerun and it took 2 days so I wasn't really dirty the second day anyway. I also fueled every day, you never know where you'll be sent next.