User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2006, 02:46 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default looking for some feedback

I am currently a student driver at a local school looking for some feedback or help choosing a company to start with, would like something close with good home time. thanks
Old 10-03-2006, 03:37 PM

I notice you live in Ohio, that will work in your favor... lots of truck traffic, lots of companies running that area, which tends to work well for finding a job and getting home time.

Other than hometime, what are you looking for in a driving career? Tough question, I know, but one worth asking yourself. If you don't have an answer to that, than start digging into places like this, reading everything you can, absorbing all of the information you can. A few examples:

Do you want to run all 48 states, or stay pretty much in the East? Running all 48 will generally keep you away from home longer, and it will limit your choices as many companies never venture East of I35.

You'll likely get offers from all sorts of companies, dry van, refrigerated, flatbed. What type of freight sounds appealing to you? Each has it's own advantages and setbacks, and asking questions of drivers will teach you the basics and help you decide.

Would you be interested in a regional or dedicated account that gets you home more often but offers less variety? Some companies offer a lot more opportunities for this than others.

Do you really want to drive OTR? There are lots of opportunities in your are for local and in state driving.

What matters to you most? High miles? Home time? Being treated like a person and not a truck number? It's hard to answer this until you are out there, but you likely have an image in your mind of what this career will be like. From that, you can ask directed questions about specific carriers and usually get the answer you are looking for.