User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2006, 01:07 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Flatbed Freight/Carrier Loyalty/Look For A New Job? (longish

My wife and I have enjoyed reading these boards for a few years now, never had the time or anything noteworthy to post, but situation has reached critical!

I am hoping some veteran flatbedders can offer some advice.

I have 4 yrs OTR flatbed experience and work for a company in the rust belt that hauls only steel. Is it me or are rates way down and freight is drying up?

The 'bad' weeks are eclipsing the 'good' weeks! After doing some math yesterday, my YTD gross weekly average is now down to $667. A few weeks ago, when freight was non-existant, my gross was $100. My gross for five loads this week will be around $550 - $575.

I have complained to managment, their response was to throw me a proverbially bone, a few good $1200 weeks then back to nothing again. Yesterday, safety told me there were 9 more drivers in line ahead of me to quit and to hang in there it will get better. This has been going on since late June/early July. There is no layover, detention, breakdown, or tarp pay and paid by percent.

This is a smallish (100) truck company that runs the regular haunts around PA, NY, NC,VA,IL, IN etc. I have begged for weekend loads, but they dont run weekends so that wont boost my income.

So my question is, where has all the freight gone? Is there greener grass somewhere else?

I hate to change jobs, I like who I work with but I have to pay the bills and situation is reaching critical. Tough if out or start looking?

I dont want to apply to TMC or Maverick. Roehl said they wouldnt take me because of my one (and only) fender bender last spring.

I would like to find a company that hauls more than just steel, dont want to do van. I dont have to be home weekend. Every 10 +/- days would be ideal.