User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2009, 05:04 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Arrow experienced driver that hasn't driven in 4 years

I graduated truck driving school in 1984 in Phoenix, Arizona. I went to work for a company right out of school, 4 of the companies that I worked for are no longer in business. I owned a truck and leased to a company in Springfield, Mo and was with them 5 years, then because of family issues I got off the road and have not driven for 4 years this month. I am wanting to get back into trucking, I have a current CDL w/ doubles and triples/passenger/ and haz-mat endorsements and current DOT Medical card. I am finding more and more that getting back into truckingis going to be difficult as many companies are requiring recent verifiable experience and like I said, it's been 4 years since I have been in a truck, ANY SUGGESTIONS MUCH APPRECIATED......

Last edited by 20 year driver; 01-13-2009 at 05:19 PM.
Old 01-17-2009, 02:56 PM
Senior Board Member

Might want to focus your search on small companies. Other than that many companies are going to want you to take a refresher course. A few of the training companies might be willing to hire you on without one and send you out with a trainer for a couple of weeks before turning you loose as a solo driver.

With all the companies that have downsized or went out of business in the past few months it is an employers market so be prepared to jump through a few extra hoops to find a job.
Old 01-18-2009, 11:17 PM
Board Icon

I agree with Uturn that you should look at smaller companies. I would not even CONSIDER a "training company" that might want you to jump through hoops!

Yes, there is a glut of experienced drivers on the market, and times are hard. But, if you deal with PEOPLE instead of "megatrons" in the personnel office, you can SURELY convince someone that your years of experience are worth MORE than the trouble they would get with many other drivers.