User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-19-2008, 02:12 AM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default When can they mess with you?

When I drove for a living I drove a day cab locally restocking C-stores, so I wouldn't know, but I'll ask:

Can the DOT inspect you at any time? If they see the truck are you fair game? Say you are off duty in the sleeper sawin' logs and it's 3AM can the cops bang on the door, wake you up and inspect/quiz you? I know they can stop you at anytime while you're moving, for any reason or no reason at all, but can they harang you when you're stopped, off duty asleep at odd hours?

Here's another question: can they inspect you when you're parked on private property or do they have to wait until you hit a public highway/public rest area?
Old 05-19-2008, 02:16 AM
Senior Board Member

That's been my experience with them. They'll usually say, "you look a bit heavy", perhaps to give themselves some justification, but here, they're on the local drivers much more than the OTR drivers, I think. DMV Enforcement officers routinely sit outside rock quarries, and select dump trucks or end dumps to inspect at random. There've even been times when they've actually gone into the quarries and put trucks out of service right then and there. I would imagine they'd need the consent of the quarry owner to do that though.
Old 05-19-2008, 02:41 AM

There is no rules to when DOT can pull you over! They are no local officers. Most do not pull you over or bother you unless there is reason to be given though.
What are you going to do argue with them. Just show them what they need to see and move on. If they write you up for something that you could find on your pre-trip inspection or have done prior to leaving after your 10 hour break then I would go to court. Only if your log book was current and you wasn't doing anything illegal per that state law!