User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-08-2014, 07:43 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Here's the purchase plan so far for several trucks, what do you think?

Thank you for taking the time to read and respond. I know its not short so thank you for your time. I've been posting forums and researching this stuff like a maniac and would appreciate some help. Here are the main points to know:

--I am new to the trucking industry in regards to equipment knowledge
--I've been thrown into this purchase. If I had been w/ the co before it would have been started years ago so sorry for my sometimes straightforward "Help me please" posts.
--We are based in CA
--Because of CARB, need to upgrade to 2008 (2007 engine) and newer. Glider is out and anything below 2007 (2006 engines) needs an aftermarket DPF which I read is a horrible idea.
--Need to upgrade almost all our units, total of 5-6 units, about 3-4 day cabs and 1-2 sleepers
--Do not need all the trucks at once but have an immediate need for 2 day cabs, renting equipment right now =/
--Will upgrade remaining units as soon as more funds are available or CARB starts dishing out heavy fines
--Emission research says many issues with 2007-2012 trucks, specifically 2007 and 2011 model years.
--Ideally we'd get all 2013 & newer trucks but can't afford the cash outflow for 5-6 of those.
--Based on banking research and financial statement reviews, we'd only be approved for a small loan or LOC or lease on just 1-3 units.
--We do have cash for down payments but like the say, cash is the most liquid asset and scarce
--We care about our drivers and everyone we work with. We want to grow and share the success with them so we want to get this right. One of the biggest reasons I joined is to have a shot at running a trucking co. differently. Its not a popular industry but it can make a unique impact some day past good freight hauling. Too new-school? Maybe but Im relentless.