User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2013, 05:02 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Random question...

I'm new to this and have no idea about trucking. I am looking for someone to haul hay from our farm to other states and I was wondering if it was possible to do that without a broker? And what are rates now a days? Thanks in advance.
Old 08-22-2013, 07:23 PM
Board Icon

Where are you from? I'm assuming you live near grain elevators? Or John Deere, Case IH dealers? You might ask around at a local elevator, etc and see if there is anyone that hauls hay. There are usually guys in farming communities that have a truck/trailer that do trucking on the side.

I wouldn't have a clue how much rates are for guys that haul hay.

http://watsonsysco.com/
Old 08-24-2013, 05:18 AM
Senior Board Member

No broker is needed. Many carriers, including me will want paid COD or at time of pick-up. Rates vary widely depending on the locations and form the hay is in and even time of year. Five foot round bales are more expensive (when loaded two wide) because they are over dimensional. I generally don't mess with them. I don't mind doing square bales or 4 foot round bales, though. I've run square bales from Holtville, CA to Granbury, TX for around $2 a mile and I've done four-foot round bales from Mississippi to Illinois for around $3.15a mile.

Old 08-24-2013, 06:42 AM
Senior Board Member

nice pics but what weight you got on two trailer axles ,in new zealand we allowed 15ton that metric 15,oooks .on two axle trailer. need at least 7 axles all up for 44tons.allowanses let us go to 45.5 tons .
Old 08-24-2013, 08:36 PM

Mitch, the trailer in the picture is a spread axle, meaning more than 34,000 allowed on that axle group. In the round bale picture, the 4foot bales aren't real heavy if they are dry, so that load should be somewhat under gross depending on how heavy the tractor is. By the way, I love those fenders over your drives Musicman.