User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2012, 05:28 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Leasing on/ recent experience

Can I lease on to a company if I have not driven since the first quarter of '09?

How much money can and should I make if I am leased on for local work? (I can stay out overnight one or two nights a week if necessary, but I would prefer to be home daily or almost daily if possible). What is the best type of work to have this home time?

I am thinking that if I could make $1500 per week after fuel, I would be ok. I'm not trying to get rich, but I would like to turn a steady profit. Does anyone know of a good company that will hire me, treat me right, and pay at least this consistently? Do you guys think this number is ok? Also, are there any restrictions on running a mechanical engine, or any coming in the near future?

Quick background:

I am a mechanic and have done many, many repairs (engine rebuilds, clutches, fabricating / welding, painting, etc). My home and garage and truck are paid for. I was a company driver for quite a few years (10 +). I am single and have few expenses. I don't have a lot of cash, but I will have zero debt as I begin this, and I have reserves that I can access for emergencies as long as the truck is working. Probably looking to start in the fall. I am in the Montgomery County area of Pa (about a half hour west of Phila). Like I said, I'm not looking to get rich, but I would like to turn a steady profit, and eventually move into something more profitable when I am ready. Trying to figure the best plan. Thanks in advance.
Old 11-25-2012, 01:20 AM
Senior Board Member

if you were closer to harrisburg i'd say call land transportation. its rail work. learn the system and make it work for you, you can make a lot of money.
Old 11-25-2012, 02:50 AM
Senior Board Member