User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2011, 09:13 PM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Can a company driver get his own authority and do return loads?

I'm a company driver. I'm in the process of preparing to switch to O/O in some form but I'm at the point in my life where I dislike drama. I'd prefer a smooth transition. I'd like to stay at the company but stick my toe in the O/O pond and try and make more money.

Where opportunity knocks is that it's a manufacturing company that has it's own drivers (2) and they send us out on runs delivering their products and unless we're picking up raw materials on the return trip, we deadhead home, sometimes from as far away as 1500 miles.

They don't own their own trucks, they lease them. They do own their own trailers. Here's my question. If I were to get my own authority could I rent their truck and trailer on just the return leg of the trip and using my authority try doing some hauling on the way home? I'm thinking win-win. They would know exactly what I'm doing and their portion of the $ would be how much they collect from me for the rental and mine would be the freight hauling $ minus what I pay them for using their equipment.

If I botched up trying to explain, let me know, I'll try again. :thumbsup:
Old 02-19-2011, 01:40 PM
Senior Board Member

Short answer......NO

You would need liability and cargo insurance for the truck which is already insured by someone else, as far as renting the truck from the company, NO, not only is the lease to the truck in the companies name they don't even own it, the leasing company would have to give permission.

Would be way more complicated than it would be worth.
Old 02-19-2011, 02:31 PM