User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-15-2010, 02:38 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Looking for some wisdom and insight please

Hello everyone, I am looking for some advice. You see I have worked for the last year for a company here in California hauling produce to their warehouse. I have been driving commercially for over 8 years hauling dry and refrigerated goods pulled tankers, fuel and milk (not at the same time)anyway here my problem. The company that I was driving for is going into bankruptcy and they owe me a few thousand dollars in payroll and vacation pay. They don’t have the money to cash me out, however they have offered me the tractor that I have been driving in exchange. The tractor is a 1995 International 9600 series and it runs strong. However I have always driven for someone else so I don’t know my way around the world of being an owner operator. Is it really hard to get all of my permits on my own? Or would it be better to use one of those online sites that charge for the service? Is it better to lease a trailer or own? Or should I try to sale the tractor which may be hard because of its age?
Old 12-15-2010, 03:21 AM
Senior Board Member

First off, how much do they owe you???? Is the truck a day-cab or a sleeper? Either way I'd say the value is going to be around $5,000

You live in California so You do realize that in a year the truck will not be able to run in California due to emissions regs (CARB)........ I'd say if they offer you the truck SELL IT to a dealership and pocket the cash. Just my .02
Old 12-15-2010, 03:51 AM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon