User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2008, 08:42 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Need Advice ASAP!

I am an owner operator eho currently is not able to work do to my truck being down for repairs. I contract my work out to an oil company and I deliver gasoline locally. Well back in July my truck broke down and the repairs were over 3K and I am able to pay this back to my company through installments.

Well a few weeks after I got my truck back on the road it broke down again. Now the diagnostic is stating that I need a crank. The mechanic told me a new one with labor was 9K and 2500 off of this for a used one. I am really up a creek because I cannot afford this at the moment.

Here are my options:

1. Fix the truck and drive company until I can afford to get it back on the road while still making my monthly finance payment for the truck.

2.Disregard my credit be late a few months and drive for another owner-

3. Try and sell the truck "as is" getting a little for it but not the entire loan. I still owe 12K the truck 1999 International Day cab that I purchased for 24K a year ago.

All advice is greatly appreciated!!!
operator.
Old 09-04-2008, 10:38 PM
Senior Board Member

I'm going to be harsh....

If you haven't budgeted for a 7k-10k repair, you shouldn't be in business.

Sell the truck, and be a company driver.
Old 09-04-2008, 10:41 PM
Senior Board Member

Dont do option 2 you will really be screwed.

can you borrow the money to fix the truck??

tootie

Adopt a Minpin
minpinrescue.org
Old 09-05-2008, 12:14 AM
Senior Board Member