User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-16-2008, 10:48 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default taxes

as a lease driver, i received a weekly check with no withholding. i set myself up on quarterly irs payments (determined by the previous years earnings) so that i wouldn't have to scramble and come up with the money at the end of the year.

after buying my truck, i'm not so sure that this is really the best set up now? but the accountant i use says i should stick with the quarterly payment plan. i'd like to defer the payments, and do everything at the end of the year, so that all my write-offs and everything are taken into account. i'm seriously trying to build up my maint. fund right now and would rather put the money into somethin like that for now.

what do y'all do or recommend? i found an another accountant who works with some other o/o, but i haven't gone to see her yet. just wanted to get an idea of what some of you guys do first.
Old 06-16-2008, 11:10 PM
Senior Board Member
Location: In my own little world, that rides right behind the cab.

Couple of questions ? Is this your first year of owning your own truck, were you a company driver on miles before ? Has your "accountant" ever delt with trucking before ?
I have been and O/O for many years and always filed quaterly, based on what I lowballed I was going to clear, then at the end of the year had someone who really knows what they are doing do the full years taxes with all the deductions, depresiation etc. and always end up getting a nice check back (Normaly don't have to pay the last 1/4 either)
Just make sure you keep EVERY reciept, however small it is. I just have a box on the floor on the passenger side that says March, April, May etc. and everything goes in there and they all go to my tax lady at the end of the year
Old 06-16-2008, 11:27 PM
Senior Board Member

I'm sure I'll get disagreements on this point, but they're wrong :lol: