User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2008, 06:15 AM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default can a felon w/ no exp. become an o/o?

I know some one who has gone through school to get his cdl and tried to get on as a company driver, but has been turned down by everyone because of his criminal record (1 felony drug charge several years ago). He seems intent on driving and has a great mvr.

He has asked me questions about buying his own truck and if it would be possible then. I am only a company driver and don't have any idea. I have read the threads about other drivers trying to be a company driver going through the same problems, but I don't remember anyone asking about becoming an o/o. Also, I have read some of Steve Booth's threads and know it can be done with no experience starting out (even if it is not easy).

He has some savings and a rich grandmother who knows nothing about trucking but wants him to get a job and may help out. So my question is: is it feasible (or possible) if some one with a decent amount of money starting out could go out and by their own insurance and truck and be able to drive? Could he then lease on with a company? Or maybe get his own authority and drive? He said he heard that o/o's had to be bonded and that felons could not be bonded.
(maybe he could put the truck in grandma's name?)

I know these are some wild questions, but he keeps bringing it up and I really don't know what to say. Thank you for any help.
Old 03-12-2008, 09:43 AM
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)