User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2008, 10:09 PM
Board Regular
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Double brokered ?

Ok since I am new to this I would like your opinion. The dispatch service I signed up with sent me the the BOL for my last pick up and I noticed that it had been double brokered I think .
It said that the car was paying 350.00 to companyx minus 10%, then said my part was 315.00, in which I had to pay 10%. Is this normal? I didn't say anything being that I am new and we really never discussed this sort of thing . I also found out that the loads are coming strait from the largest Dispatch load there is for cars . I will not name it but you guys can figure that out. Also on the site where I found this dispatcher , they advertised that they would do all paper work such as faxes to the shippers and receivers and all I have to do is pick up the cars and deliver. They went on about how much faxes on the road cost and how long you had to wait to get them but they would do all of that for you. On one occasion I was told ( while on my trip) to find a place to get a fax, for my next load in which I would have had to search out a truck stop, and recieve the faxes and pay for them . I understand this is normal for a lot of you guys but I was told different from this dispatch service. I had the dispatcher send them to the shipper and picked them up so this turned out ok but never the less According to the add I should have not been put in the position to have to go and get my own faxes . Finally After signing on I found out ths dispatcher has another job , this was evident when Wed I sat for 4.5 hours waiting for a load to find out the dispatcher was in a meeting at their other job. Again not whining but want some feed back thanks. Darin
Old 02-16-2008, 10:25 PM
Senior Board Member

Darin..unfortunately, double brokering is all to common an occurence, in trucking.

As for your business...might I make this suggestion?