User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2008, 09:29 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default How did you get your 1st Truck

Inquiring minds wanna know. Traditional financing? Cash? Lease Purchase?

How much did you pay for your 1st truck? Would you go about it differently if you had to do it again?

Thanks in advance.
Old 02-15-2008, 10:13 PM
Senior Board Member
Location: California...yup beautifull Hollywood just over the hill

G-man tiped me off, that if you have a bit of cash saved up, auctions can be a he$$ of a lot of savings, and he was right.
Obviously lots of risk involved, so wear your jeans and go preparing to get dirty for sure.....they were all dealers there and I felt like a sheep among wolvs, but I was the only one crawling under them to do inspections.
Yeah peps here say its risky ...n cant arque much....but its just as risky dealing with shady truck sales people too IMO.....I was a car mechanic years ago and what those car Fn dealers said in private to mechanics was scary so I would bet the same crude happens withtruck dealers....no personal Exp. there just a hunch.
Ohhh yeah...I payed 19k and a comparable model here in So Cal runs about 35k ...I was pricing some at a dealer before...offered him 30k for a truck priced 39k....n he turned me down...he can keep it for that much difference.
Old 02-15-2008, 10:18 PM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon

I paid cash for my first truck and trailer. I paid $6,500 for it. I knew a guy who dealt in car haulers and we did some trading around. I could haul 10 cars on that rig. You would likely not be able to buy something comparable for the same money today. You could still pay cash.
Old 02-15-2008, 11:16 PM
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe4158
G-man tiped me off, that if you have a bit of cash saved up, auctions can be a he$$ of a lot of savings, and he was right.