User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2007, 01:49 AM
Board Regular
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Advice on Bouncy Ride?

I need your help and advice again. I had posted this question once before, and tried many things, but so far nothing has helped.

I have a 1985 Freightliner Day Cab, Spring Ride, the only shocks are on the front.

When going down the road at 43-50 & 62-70 my Truck has a bounce in it, not a vibration, but a bounce up and down in it.

You can not feel it in the Steering Wheel, the shifter shows no sign of going crazy at this time.

I put new steers on 20,000 miles ago, new shocks 10,000 miles ago, New brake drums on the front just last week.

Driveshaft redone completly.

The bounce gets worse the longer in the day I drive it. I haul logs for a living and when I first start out in the morning it still does this, but nothing compared to 12 hours later in the afternoon????

When I am coming to a stop it will buck and bounce like maybe I ran over something, not always, but more so later in the day.

I Noticed the Left front steer tire has what looks like a bouncing pattern in it where you can feel it with your hand just slightly?

The other steer tires were on the Truck when I bought it Sept 06, and had them replaced only 2 months later. They still looked brand new?? Took it to a Front End Shop to find out about the Vibration (VERY SMALL then compared to now)

The guy jacked up the front end and put it on a machine that spinned the wheel and man did it jump around.

He didn't know what caused this, but said that I needed new steer tires. They only do 3 axle alignment, no tire selling, so he was not just trying to make a buck.

Got the new steer tires put on, and no improvement?

After all of this, I am at a loss and really discouraged about finding the problem.