User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-19-2007, 01:12 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Determined to be an owner/operator AND wet behind the ears

I'd like to introduce myself. I am going to get myself my own authority, insurance, truck and start off right off the bat as an owner/operator. I'm determined. No amount of "you should drive for someone for a year first" or "you'll fail within three months" is going to stop me so experienced people who I should listen to, save your fingertips, hehe. I know it's possible because I have watched two people do it with zero experience and one of them had $230 in his pocket and was living in a trailer park.. So I know that with the right preparation, determination, and common sense/research that it IS possible. I've started and ran two very successful businesses already when everyone told me it wasn't possible and I'm self taught in everything I have done professionally. I am "unemployable" and I take that as a compliment. My motivation stems from the fact that I have wanted to do it since I was a kid. I've been mulling the idea around for about 15 years now and have decided that it's time to do it for me. I love to drive, I love to travel and see things, and can stay awake for 36 hours at a time (then sleeping for nice long stretches) regularly. I've been working as a computer programmer for the past 10 or so years, own a a software company and damnit, I need to get out there! I'm so freaking sick of sitting here at my computer, not meeting anyone or seeing anything and man, I am a freaking trucker at heart. I have actually driven a big rig on two occasions. The first time was while I was hitchiking from Alaska to Colorado one time and a trucker let me give it a try - ya, illegal we knew but he was an old-timer and seemed to trust me for some reason. Thinking about it now the guy was absolutely wrecklessly crazy. The second time I rode with a guy to Oregon and on the way back he showed me how to