User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2017, 09:31 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Just got my tankers and some questions

I sincerely apologize if this is the wrong forum to post but this seemed like the most likely place to do it. On to the question.

I've recently obtained my Tankers endorsement in a chance to get a local driving job. I have no prior experience in pulling a tanker at all. I drove van for little over three and half years. My current job requires a CDL, but I'm only in the truck maybe two hours outta the day, rest is spent on a fork lift. So this offer to drive local and make $1.50 more an hour comes along. I jump at the chance to get before anyone else does. Make a long story short, I'm about to start but things have changed since I talked to the head dispatcher. Basically promised me things and didn't deliver. I'm not going to be local, I'll be over the road most of the time (which I don't want), and when I'm local it'll be fifty cents more than I'm making now.
Plus they put me under a load before I had even left my job. Pulling a smooth bore tank and I have to clean out someone else's truck in order for me to drive it. I expected a bit of training pulling tankers, like how to unload it, tricks of the trade from a more experienced driver, etc.. On top of that, I'd have to give up a side job I do three days a week and still home every night. I just like to have some thoughts from more experienced truckers.
Old 06-24-2017, 10:13 PM
Senior Board Member