User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2016, 04:33 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Aspiring Truck Driver Seeking Advice

Hey everyone,

I recently decided to shift careers into Truck driving and am currently working in retail low-end management for Staples. I have plenty of experience with dock work and have worked for a couple years as a dockworker for FedEx Freight in the past. As i am in retail management i don't have a TON of time to do the proper research that i should be doing into the truck driving schools around here (Las Vegas, NV) nor the companies that those schools source new drivers to. From what I've researched so far it seems like there are quite a few companies out there like Swift and (possibly) Werner that are rather predatory trucking companies that either don't come through on promises made to new-hires and/or force you into a contract to work for them and more or less end up shafting you big-time. This is exactly what i'd like to avoid, and would love to work for a company with a good reputation like FedEx Freight who was a fantastic company when i worked for them.

What i would like to know from all you truckers out there, experienced and newbies alike, is what is your impression/opinions on truck driving schools? So far I've interviewed with AIT(American Institute of Trucking) and am going to go check out Southwest Truck Driver Training on Monday. As well, i'd love to hear some input on good, quality companies to try to work for right out of school, not to mention terrible companies to avoid at all costs, but realistically even if i have to put in my time to get hours on the road at a bad company as long as i can make more than my current salary of only about $1400 a month i'd be happy doing that for a year.

Thanks everybody!
Hope to be out on the road with ya'll soon!
Old 02-04-2016, 08:32 AM
Senior Board Member