User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2015, 05:46 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Flatbed'er turned dry van hauler having trouble with alley docks

Hi, I've got 2 years experience pulling flatbed (steel) and today started a new job that pays better except now I'm pulling dry van and haven't since CDL school. Never really had issues backing up until now and I've done some pretty crazy stuff with the flatbed since we're in SoCal and deal with lots of traffic and tight spots. I've been having a little trouble with alley docking as it seems I never have enough room even though I know that I do. I get the trailer at the beginning of the hole and get stuck because I'm too close to the inside trailer next to the hole. I'm more of a photographic driver rather than an instinctive one so I guess I just need to figure out how to properly set up and achieve the particular 'picture' I'm looking for while aiming for the hole. When backing the flatbed trailers I always set up certain ways and used reference points and 99% of the time it worked without a fuss. One of the yard dogs gave me some help and explained that I need to aim my inner tandems just past the line so I don't hit the can on the inside while chasing the trailer to straighten out. I officially begin driving with a trainer tomorrow so I'll see what he says. Any pointers? Geez, two years later and I feel like a damn student again... lol but hey I'm not afraid to ask for advice when I know I need it.
Old 10-14-2015, 07:40 AM
Senior Board Member

It'll come back to ya, in the mean time don't be afraid to slide those tandems all the way back. That makes it real easy to just steer it into the hole.

"A free people ought not only to be armed and disciplined, but they should have sufficient arms and ammunition to maintain a status of independence from any who might attempt to abuse them, which would include their own government.” George Washington
Old 10-14-2015, 10:51 AM
Administrator