User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-01-2015, 03:33 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default dream career?

Hi y'all. I've been a correctional officer since 1995 and was eligible to retire on May 30th 2015. I'm still working at the prison and am hoping to move from this career to my next one without a break of employment. A few years ago i talked to someone who was a dock worker at ABF freight. Based on what he said i believe i have found my dream career. I applied for ABF earlier this month and will be applying for Yellow this week. He advised me of all the ups and downs of his job. The ups were to many to list. The downs were:

1) it's shift work. There's a new shift starting every few hours.

my feelings on this: I've been working shift work since 1995. I'm used to it, there's no shift I'm to proud to work.

2) until a full time employee builds seniority they'll have bad days off.

My feelings: i had weekdays off for years. No problem here at all.

3) it may be part time/ on call for up to a year. During that year there's no guarantee of employment.

Response: I've been dreaming of putting in for a dock worker position at ABF or Yellow for three years and my wife and i saved enough cash to live on during those lean times.

So i have a few questions, but mostly I'm a sponge and am searching for any advise or thoughts on this job.

Question 1) will i be able to get hired on at ABF or Yellow as a dock worker if i don't have a fork lift certification, cdl A, or any dock/freight experience?

2) what can i do to be a more desirable potential new hire for the position of dock worker at ABF or Yellow?

3) anyone happen to know if ABF or yellow have benefits for part time/ on call dock worker employees?

4) are there any other reputable freight companies that anyone knows of that i could apply with in Albuquerque NM or surrounding areas?