User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2014, 05:26 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Positive UA 30 years ago

Hello CAD,
I'm new to the industry and I'm applying for jobs with major carriers. I've told two of them, honestly, when I was asked that I did test positive for smoking pot 30 years ago. They seemed like it was going to be an issue. I was working for an Agricultural company that just laid off all new hires and I was one them. They gave me a glowing letter of recommendation and I have my HazMat and Tanker endorsements that I needed to haul their chemicals. Am I screwed to get on with someone? I probably could have said never but I prefer to be honest.
Old 09-09-2014, 07:59 PM
Administrator
Site Admin
Super ModeratorSenior Board Member

If you really mean 30 years ago, as in 1984, then there are a couple of questionable statements in your story.

1. You haven't driven commercially in 30 years? If that's correct then that's the number one reason companies are turning you down.

2. I don't recall anyone testing for drugs back in 1984, not saying you're wrong, just saying that I don't recall being tested until 1987 and even then it was company by company not mandated by the Feds.

3. If I recall correctly, in 1984 you didn't get endorsements, you just got a chauffeurs license and then drove whatever you could handle.

Maybe I'm incorrect, but that's how I remember things back then.

Old 09-10-2014, 04:09 AM
Rookie

I really do mean 30 years ago as in (your math is correct) 1984. Please notice the first line of my post; I'm new to the industry. The industry of being a professional driver I kinda thought would kind of go without saying with it being posted in New Truck Drivers: Get Help Here. The industry I was in way back then was very tight on security. I learned a hard lesson then that taught me to get my $h!t together so it would never happen again.