User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-26-2012, 12:55 AM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default TransAm trucking still have autoshift?

Hear they have Kenworth T-700's now but wondering if they are autoshift as well. May be looking to join them after I get my cdl soon..
Old 12-26-2012, 05:05 AM

Why are you wondering if they are autoshift? A lot of companies are going to automatic transmissions. They have better fuel economy and save on wear and tear. Automatics keep a truck in its optimal rpm range. Out of the 9 fixing to be 10 trucks I operate 5 fixing to be 6 are automatics. These trucks get better fuel milage by a significant amount. The best truck fuel image wise is getting almost 2 mpg better than the worst manual and getting 1.2 mpg better than the best manual. I was skiddish at first of manual transmissions and was very anti automatic until I got one. I wouldn't buy anything else. I don't know if you are for or against them but being a rookie I would not base who I worked for off of the transmission the truck had. I honestly wouldn't base it off that even if I had 50 years experience. I would base it off of pay and hometime. You will learn as a rookie pretty much all the companies that will hire you are the same. Suck it up get your experience and then choose what you want to do. You get two years with one company you can get just about any job you want. Those jobs aren't easy to come by. My drivers make $60,000+ a year. I only lost one driver this year and that was because he fell in love with a girl in Nevada so he had to go chase her. The only time we hire is when we buy another truck. So don't worry about the transmission just go get your experience and the. The sky is the limit.
Old 12-26-2012, 09:28 AM
Board Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve3662 View Post
Why are you wondering if they are autoshift? A lot of companies are going to automatic transmissions.