User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2012, 03:10 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default How about some useful new driver input?

I am a recent cdl grad, no experience looking for useful positive input regarding companies hiring student drivers. I am 50, single, kids grown, no criminal history, no dwi/dui, no citations or accidents and have been pre approved by werner and wil-trans. I am looking for a company that allows a medium (under 40#) dog after training and trains as a solo operation ( trainer awake while you drive) with good pay, equip., etc. I have had a great deal of rejection from perspective employers as I have been retired since early 2007 and utilizing interest and capital gains proceeds for my living expenses. As a result I cannot show 3-10 years of work history or employment income which has been cause for most companies to reject my applications. If anyone has positive recent (1-3 yrs.) personal experiences and would be willing to respond I would like to hear from you. I am not interested in hearing more complaints and negative comments.....how about some of your good experiences and recommendations?
Old 08-20-2012, 04:28 PM
Senior Board Member

You don't give much pertinent info. Where do you call home?

You have just learned that "not working" makes getting hired as a truck driver hard. Unfortunate for you, Corporate America does not recognize "Retirement" at age 45. However, since you say you have been living off interest and capital gains, you have......or should have, tax returns to show proof of that income. Those tax returns should suffice for the work history.

Werner and/or Wil-Trans, would work as a training company. I know that there are many drivers whom have worked at both for years that are happy with both. But to suggest a company that is close to you.....we need to know where you live.
Old 08-20-2012, 07:29 PM
Rookie