User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2012, 05:27 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Emigrating

Hi all I'm thinking of Emigrating to America and drive long haul. I know there are lots of employment agencies that promise everything under the sun to get you to sign up for them and let them do the paperwork etc etc but it's usually for a sky high fee and I don't trust them.
All I am looking for is some honest answers and are there actual jobs to be had?? I'm not a newbie to driving, I have 21 years of truck driving experience in Ireland, Uk and Europe.
Is it worth coming over to America to try and realise my dream??
Any advice would be gratefully accepted.

Thank you.
Old 07-08-2012, 06:03 PM
Rookie

Quote:
Originally Posted by The fub View Post
Hi all I'm thinking of Emigrating to America and drive long haul. I know there are lots of employment agencies that promise everything under the sun to get you to sign up for them and let them do the paperwork etc etc but it's usually for a sky high fee and I don't trust them.
All I am looking for is some honest answers and are there actual jobs to be had?? I'm not a newbie to driving, I have 21 years of truck driving experience in Ireland, Uk and Europe.
Is it worth coming over to America to try and realise my dream??
Any advice would be gratefully accepted.

Thank you.
First off, if you do not have an American wife or immediate family member already here you can't do it.
They don't consider truck drivers a skilled trade here.
My American wife sponsored me on a K-3 Visa and it took just over a year to get permission to live in the United States after immediately applying after our wedding.
I then had to apply for a Work Visa to tide me over until I got my Permanent Resident Card (Green Card) 1+ years later.