User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-03-2012, 09:08 AM
Board Regular
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Nonnewbie but dont know where else it should go

I quit truckign a few years ago. and a few years before that. And a .. well u get it. Last year i was a bedbugger. Actually liked the job, but the way that industry treats employees is horrendous. I'm getting back in because i finally figured out .. i'm a trucker. I cant stand working with/for dumbasses/backstabbers/whiners/lazy idiots and like a job where my results determine my pay. End of rant.

Anyway my buddy is a lease driver with a year left on his lease and wants me to team with him. He trained me 10 years ago or so agao and we're tight so we'll endure each other. But how does the money usually work in this situation? It just occurred to me tonight that he might be thinking some kind of independant contractor thing.. but then again youre working for the main company so im a bit confused about this. A grand a week is great unless youre forking out all the taxes employers have to pay, doing quarterly statements etc. Any thoughts?
Old 07-03-2012, 05:38 PM
Senior Board Member

You need to ask him! It could go either way payroll check or 1099. you never know what someones thinking he could be figuring .25 per mile for all mi. or just for your miles so you really need to ask him. Also ask about home time, health care ect ect.
Old 07-03-2012, 10:20 PM
Board Regular

Talked to him today and he's doing percentage. upside is straight up $$$ every week. Downside of course is handling all my own tax bs. I think theres still a self employment tax too etc. Giant pita. It's under an umbrella company so i imagine healthcare etc benefits. Im not going anywhere without good healthcare as im getting older and starting to actually need it. About a grand a week but thats before taxes. Thanks for the reply repete
Old 07-03-2012, 10:29 PM
Board Icon