User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2011, 02:23 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default NJ newbie getting CDL

Hi folks. Im a newbie here and hope be a third generation trucker. My father owned a small trucking buiness with 3 petes before he passed hauling sand and gravel in North Jersey. Im in the corporate world and hate it. My wife is a nurse with good income. Im studying for my CDL as we speak and hope to have it this year. I want a single truck with a dump trailer and hope to one day get a low boy and flat bed. I hope and wish to do local runs only. Maybe start out only 2 or 3 days a week as my full time job is flexable. Hoping to do it full time after a few years with one driver. Any contructive crisitism is appreciated. Thanks.
Old 06-05-2011, 03:47 AM
Senior Board Member

Good Luck. (you will need it)

"All the coolie carriers suck. Log 70, work 80-100, paid for 50." - the Great ColdFrostyMug

Old 06-05-2011, 07:48 AM
Board Regular

My best advice would be to make sure the truck you plan on buying is something that can be put to work and even try to make some good contacts before jumping the gun. I'm on the opposite coast as you, but things are in the toilet right now for the type of work it seems you are interested in. My previous employer (paving/excavating outfit) seems to be on a sinking ship. They have sold off all of there extra equipment (2 transfer trucks, excavator, backhoe, sheep's foot compactor, heck even their office/shop building). They are not alone, either. Most paving companies are barely working anymore.