User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-07-2010, 07:17 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default My Catch-22 On Long Island

Hey Folks -

I really feel like I'm in a bind here...

I have had my Class A with Hazmat, Tanker, Doubles / Triples and Metal Coil endorsements since this past March. I did not graduate from a school - I took a half dozen private lessons and took the road test. I have zero OTR experience and I have about 200 hours of local experience. I am a safe and conscientious driver with nothing recent enough on my driving record to concern any employers. Despite my limited wheel time, I have driven some cool equipment from carnival rides with all sorts of peculiarities to a 70' combination mobile video production studio to standard boxes.

In my reality I am a skilled driver who has not driven everything but is capable of driving anything. In addition to my big rig wheel time this past season, I have three years of commercial driving experience pulling heavy (16,000 pound) ball hitch trailers with about 1,000 local runs to date. While I understand that means jack as far as rig experience, it has given me significant experience in dealing with driving situations and close-quarter maneuvering.

So how do I get a job? :cry:

As the thread title indicates, I am on Long Island, New York. I am willing to drive locally or OTR, day or night and I will drive just about anything just about anywhere. All I want to do is get in the driver seat! I currently have occasional gigs with the video rig described above and it feels SO good when I'm in the seat doing my thing!

I am highly enthusiastic about my new career. I 'take the extra five minutes' to make sure I, my equipment and my load get to where they're going safely.