User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2010, 04:08 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Question Where to start?

Any direction that might be given to me will be greatly appreciated.

I will start this with I do have a clean and up to date CA CDL with doubles triples endorsements and past experience hauling heavy equipment and operating 10 yard dumps. I haven't driven for an employer in 4 years. I have no experience with OTR interstate driving. I'm 41 and I have a young family and I am out of work as in " no construction jobs" in my area. I am trying to find something that would have me home weekly, Is that possible? I live in Southern California North San Diego County. If so what company would be a good one to speak with. Having no OTR experience is going to hurt me?

Last edited by badlogin; 09-20-2010 at 04:14 AM.
Old 09-20-2010, 01:34 PM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon

If you want to go otr then it could be a challenge since you don't have any experience. There are companies that do heavy haul regionally. With road construction going strong right now I would think that you could find something pulling a dump or transfer and be home every night. You may check with some of the equipment rental companies to see if they need someone to pick up and deliver equipment. I would also check with some of the auctions and see if they could give you a few names of carriers who pick up from them. There are several national carriers that have terminals in Fontana. CRST, Landstar and a few others have terminals and you might check to see if they need people. If you go with Landstar you will work for an owner operator or fleet owner. There are several truck stops around Fonatana and Ontario. You could drive up and talk to drivers and see if they might point you in a direction. There are carriers who spend most of their time running I-5. Others do regional in the western states.