User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2010, 12:11 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Question Retired Old Guy...go back to work??

I'm 68, retired 8years ago and haven't worked since. Kinda bored now and would like to go OTR for a few years. Don't need the $$ but need something challenging to do: drove a tanker for 6months 10years ago and liked it. I graduated CDL school a year ago with CDL (HazMat and Tanker endorsements) but the economy was dead plus I was told that folks who haven't worked in a long while are not hired. Is there any hope for me??
Thanks
Old 07-09-2010, 02:15 AM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon

There is an excess of drivers on the market, but as long as you can pass the physical there is hope. While your age may be a drawback with some carriers, it could also be an asset for others. Your main problem is that you haven't driven since you went through school and got your CDL. Most carriers want to see some experience shortly after graduating school. It may be necessary to take a refresher course in order to get your foot in the door. On the other hand, I would check with some of the training carriers such as Swift, Millis, CRST, Covenant or Roehl. They may hire you with the provision that you go with a trainer for a few weeks before putting you in a truck by yourself. It may be difficult for smaller carriers to hire you due to insurance restrictions. Many require 2 years experience before they can get you covered. Some of the major carriers self insure so that is not as much of a factor with them. It may be necessary for you to do some leg work in order to get started. As long as you have a clean MVR and criminal history you should find someone who will give you a chance.
Old 07-09-2010, 01:34 PM
Rookie
Thumbs up Thanks GMAN !!