User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2010, 04:29 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Verifiable experience?

What do trucking companies concider verifiable experience? I've been driving our 48' flat bed hauling logs for the past 5 yrs, local trips approx 300-400 mile round trips. Ive never had to keep a log or any documentation except my safety inspections etc... What I'm wondering is what I will need to get credit for my 5 yrs experience...Thanks...Lee
Old 06-06-2010, 04:57 PM
Board Icon
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)

Give them a current MVR, and your past employers contact info. You can list your job duties, and what you are experienced doing.

Companies are required by Federal law to verify a drivers past driving history, and experience.
The investigation may consist of personal interviews, telephone interviews, letters, or any other method for investigating that the carrier deems appropriate.

If you don't have daily logs, they can speak directly with your past employer to satisfy good faith effort to comply with the law.
Drug test records, accident reports, traffic violations are also part of verifying your performance history.

Old 06-06-2010, 05:34 PM
Rookie

Thanks Roadhog!
Let me enlighten you to my situation!
Me-49 yr old full time professional Firefighter/Paramedic currently slated for retirement in Oct 2010. I've been driving for our family business for 5 yrs now, 2000 International 9400xi,pulling our 48' flat bed hauling logs and some palleted freight. I have a spotless driving record both personal and comercial. Ive never did drugs and have a spotless heath card. I'm happy to hear it might be as simple as a phone call to my employer, we do all our own repairs and maintenance within reason. I guess my next step might be to talk to a recruiter huh?
Old 06-06-2010, 06:01 PM
Board Icon

FF/EMT myself. (age 16 to 56) I was mostly Volunteer.