User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2009, 05:37 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Advice Needed for new TDI grad

Good afternoon all ! I am a recent grad from Truck Driver Institute in Sanford FL. I always had an interest in trucking so when I had to switch careers I decided to make my dream a reality.I also understand that in this current economy this isn't the greatest time to get into trucking but this is something I must do for me.I have a clean background and driving record as well as a high school diploma. At this time I have orientationI offers from COVENANT TRANSPORT and CRST VAN EXPiDiTED are these good places to start based on your knowledge and experience. I had interest in Heartland Express but I understand you need a year experience to be hired with them.I understand Florida isn't a great place to live and plan to move to Tennesse after my daughter graduates high school this year. Any advice is appreciated.
Old 08-06-2009, 06:14 PM
Senior Board Member
Default Advice Given

Take this advice commensurate with what you pay for it. Both are probably as good as any to start. Pay attention to what the pay scale is six and twelve months out. Have you talked to Swift in Ocala? If not, why not? Whoever you go with, stay with them for a year, almost no matter what. BOL
Old 08-06-2009, 06:43 PM
Rookie

Sealord thanks for your advice and time I apprecite it. I havent talked to Swift yet but did fill out an app for them that was in my school packet. Do you think Swift would be a better choice than COVENANT OR CRST. I realize there is alot of negative reviews on Covenant especially concerning their idle policy. I do know that there are only a handfull of trucking companys that hire recent grads and most have negative reviews but I have to get started somewhere.

Last edited by Flyerfan4life; 08-06-2009 at 06:47 PM.
Old 08-06-2009, 07:07 PM
Board Regular