User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2008, 08:49 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default New to the forum, hello! :)

I thought I'd introduce myself. I'm 24 and getting into trucking.

I have a recruiter coming to see me Wednesday (had one see me last year but I wasn't ready. My sister was hit by a 90mph car waiting for AAA long story short she is getting back to normal after 4 months in a coma and 6 months of rehab so far).

I'm basically ready for school at NETTTS and found this forum this morning and had my eyes set on Swift because they have Volvo's but after reading the forum I am going to start looking around for other companies. I am located here in tiny Rhode Island. My parents don't really approve because I have a degree in law enforcement.

I have always loved trucks, and finally got into researching it after watching iceroad truckers in the hospital when my sister was hurt.

Anyone have any pointers on which trucking companies to research. I am looking for whatever, long haul maybe even a US/Canadian route. Or even something in the North East.

Thanks for reading, God bless.
Old 08-25-2008, 09:24 PM
Senior Board Member

Do whatever makes your happy, your parents or anyone can be against it but it's about what you want and makes you happy. Also it's a good thing to have those degress incase something was to happen when your on the road or you have a health issue that will end your trucking career early. I'm sorry to hear about your sister! I wish you the best of luck and remember your attitude makes a big difference in this industry as well as any industry!
Old 08-25-2008, 09:30 PM

Welcome to the family. I am glad that your sister is getting better. If you love law enforcement and love trucks, maybe you need to work for the DOT so that way you can let all of your buddies go free when we are over weight or have a log vilations. :wink:
Do what you want to do, you are old enough to make this decision. I wish you the BOL.