User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-19-2008, 05:06 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default 1st post and Sage school?

Hi. This is my first post here. I've had my CDL permit for a month. I have a friend teaching me to drive. I've been riding for a few years (1-2 weeks out at a time when I get time off at work) and have learned quite a bit. I'm going to team drive with the friend who is teaching me once I get my license.

Anyway, I've heard different things about getting a job. I've heard that if I'm team driving with someone with experience the companies will allow me to learn with the person with experience who would be "training" me for the first few weeks. I've also heard from others that the ins. companies won't allow the trucking company to hire someone who hasn't gone to trucking school. I plan on doing this right no matter which way is the right way. I refuse to get my license until I'm a good, safe driver. I could pass the driving test now but I don't want to just pass it. I feel like passing a test is just that and being able to drive competantly is a whole different thing. I have a job now so I'm in no rush. I'm a college graduate with a very good job. So what is the truth about getting in to trucking? Keep in mind I'm going to start off team driving with someone with lots of experience.

Also, have you heard of the Sage company? The told me I wouldn't need the regular class but just the refresher course because I can drive and know about a lot of the stuff that will be taught in the books already. I've talked to them and the are associated with a local community college.

Anything else I may need to know? Thanks!
Old 08-19-2008, 05:50 PM
Senior Board Member