User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2008, 10:13 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default former driver wants to get back into driving

hello everyone. i am currently working in the contruction business. i got my CDL-A (tank end. ) in 2000. i worked for a few years hauling construction/ drilling equipment throughout the west, and northwest. after that, i worked as an o/o hauling oversized loads up to 16' wide(portable buildings) recently, i have grown tired of the construction work, and it seems to be really slowing down, like everything else. i came to this site, and have been reading, and have learned a lot. i am not that familiar with the trucking industry, and didn't really drive OTR. i just transported the equipment in between jobs, and drove local when at the jobsite. i am just bit overwhelmed by all of the possibilities. not really sure where to go or who to speak with. most of my driving experiences have been good, with the exception of being shut down at the scalehouse in Truckee, CA. for some violations i had never even heard of. ops: and spending several days snowed in there. i consider myself to be an excellent driver, and have a perfect record. (no wreck, no dui, no tickets) the money would have to be good enough to justify being away from my family for so long. i have heard that some companies specialize in oversized loads, and that the money can be very good. does anyone know about this? are there really that many choices? just not quite sure what to do next. maybe i'm just procrastinating. any advise or info would be greatly appreciated
SAM
Old 08-06-2008, 11:34 PM
Senior Board Member

More than likely unless you can find some small outfit willing to give you a chance most are going to consider you totally inexperienced. At best they are going to want to put you with a trainer for 4-6 weeks, at worst they are going to tell you take a CDL course or refresher course and then put you with a trainer for 4-6 weeks.