User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2008, 05:31 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Need Advice on looking for a Job

How do I tell a potential employer about an accident I was involved in. I did not receive a citation nor a ticket for this accident. The accident is now six months old, but is not on my mvr nor on the mvr for the dac report. It just states I have one preventable accident and it does not list the city or state it took place in. Nor does anywhere say I was at fault. I am a new driver with six month experience.

Can some one please help me. I did loose my job, but not over the accident, it was over parking on the on-ramp.

Thanks
Casey
Old 07-24-2008, 05:43 PM
Senior Board Member

Most applications ask for all accidents you were involved in in the past x amount of years. Give a written description of the accident and if you have a copy of the police report include that as well.

I would also write up why you were terminated from the past employment. There are some carriers, Crete and Shaffer being one, that will ask both sides for the reason for termination.

Six months of experience will probably have you going through a training program. Good luck.
Old 07-24-2008, 07:21 PM

Look at it from two perspectives.

A)
It's not on your MVR or DAC. Therefore unless you willing give any information, it can't be proven in any way. Since there was no citation issued, there's no way for anyone to confirm the incident through the police department who has jurisdiction in the area where it took place.
Any prospective companies who look at your past history won't see it - as such, it never happened and you shouldn't say anything about it.